Discover Peru
Español Français

Cordillera Ampato

The Cordillera Ampato consists of three different mountain groups, Nevados Ampato, Coropuna, and Solimana, and lies in the Cordillera Occidental between lat 15°24' and 15°51'S. and long 71°51' and 73°00'W. The range extends in an easterly direction for about 140 km. The glacierized area, estimated from Landsat images, is 105 km². The area lies entirely within the Pacific Ocean drainage and is drained by Río de Majes and Río Sihuas. The highest peak is the Nevado Coropuna at 6,426 m asl.